June 16-17

Prerace testing: Toyota fastest, LMP2 Orica, GT pro Corvette, Ferrari 488

Qualifying: Kobiayashi Pole Toyota, LMP2 Maldonardo Oreca, Ford in GT Pro Porsche in GT Am.

61 cars entered / 49 Finished / 47 classified (2 Fords excluded for fuel tank size infringements) / 8 safety cars

Practice: Toyota fastest

Qualifying: 3:15.497 Toyota fastest, Aston Martin GT3 fastest GT Pro 3:48, Oreca-Gibson fastest LMP2 3:25.345, GT Am Porsche911RSR 3:51.439

Weather mainly fine with only a little rain


89th running

Toyota No 7 lead for 23 hours then a tyre problem dropped them behind the Fernando Alonso (along with Kazuki Nakajima and Sébastien Buemi) No. 8 car which won again for Toyota.

Alonso became World Champion. (as did Kazuki Nakajima & Sébastien Buemi)

Kazuki Nakajima is the first Japanese World Champion

The No 8 car could not get to No 7 but with an hour to go the Mike Conway car had 2 pit visits regarding a flat tyre but they changed the wrong rear in a sensor error.

LMP2 After 18 hours in the lead G-Drive racings Oreca badged as an Aurus was unable to fire up at a pit stop and the Alpine badged Oreca of Nicolas Lapierre pull into the lead it held to the end.

GT Pro was a race between Ferrari and Corvette with the decision on who wins by a 2 minute delay in the pit lane by the Corvette caused by a safety car enforced hold. So the AF Corse Ferrari won 70 years after the first Ferrari win. The Aston's chances were taken away by a balance of performance penalty.

GT Am was wone by a private run Ford GT but a day later they were disqualified.

Results: winner oa Toyota Hybred 385 laps (no record)

Gt am Porsche 333 laps

Gt pro Ferrari 342 laps

Lmp2 Signatech Alpine 367 laps

Lmp1 Toyota Hybred 385 laps

back to index

Sports Car Races

Targa Florio 1963

Sebring 1966

Stardust GP 1968

Le Mans 1930

Le Mans 1949

Le Mans 1950

Le Mans 1951

Le Mans 1952

Le Mans 1953

Le Mans 1954

Le Mans 1955

Le Mans 1956

Le Mans 1957

Le Mans 1958

Le Mans 1959

Le Mans 1960

Le Mans 1961

Le Mans 1962

Le Mans 1963

Le Mans 1964

Le Mans 2016