60 cars Raced

June 16-17

44 Finished

Qualifying 3:17.377 Toyota

Weather mainly fine with a little rain early

wednesday Practice

Only Toyota is left in hybrid LMP1 and it's fielding the only two cars on the grid. The remaining eight entries in the class are all privateers, notably including two new cars from Ginetta.

The largest class at Le Mans this year is LMP2, which features 20 cars all powered by a spec Gibson V8. Jackie Chan DC Racing is bringing four cars to defend their victory last year, a big showing for what will be the team's third time competing at Le Mans. The US will be represented by United Autosports and Dragonspeed, which won the European Le Mans Series last year.

LM GTE pro

This is a class that we and many others will watch very closely. As mentioned, Ford is bringing four GTs; Porsche will field four 911 RSRs in this class—two that race in WEC, and two that race in the IMSA WeatherTech series. LM GTE Pro will also host two new cars this year: The Aston Martin Vantage AMR and the BMW M8 GTE, which marks the brand's long-awaited return to Le Mans.
Rounding out the class are three Ferrari 488 GTE EVOs entered by AF Corse, and two Corvette C7.Rs from the IMSA WeatherTech Series.


Completing the 60-car grid are 13 entries in the LM GTE Am category. This will be the first time we'll see privateers run Porsche's new, mid-engine 911 RSR at Le Mans, with six cars entered. The rest of the grid consists of five Ferrari 488s and just two Aston Martin Vantage GTEs.

End Practice
That left Alonso's 3m18.021s leading time as the second-best set in the #8 Toyota and the third-best across the two cars overall, behind Kazuki Nakajima's stunning 3m15.377s pole lap and Kamui Kobayashi's 3m17.377s best. Jenson Button set the quickest time in qualifying for the #11 crew, his lap of 3m21.304s putting him almost six seconds down on Toyota driver Kazuki Nakajima's pole time and a little under two seconds slower than Stephane Sarrazin in the sister #17 SMP BR1.

But when the technical regulations cast favour in one direction and dampen the ability for other models to perform at a similar level, driving talent becomes an afterthought.When the technical regulators nail their sums, the six GTE-Pro brands have a legitimate chance to win. And when they’re off, the manufacturers on the wrong side of the equation are left to pray for miracles to erase the extra seconds and tenths found in their lap times.
thursday Practice Alonso began the session in the #8 Toyota and completed eight heavily disrupted laps caused by many incidents suffered by LMP2 and GTE machinery.
That meant he had just two clean flying laps and he set a 3m18.021s best time on his second run, after Sven Muller put the #94 Porsche 911 RSR GTE into the barriers on the approach to Indianapolis, which resulted in the session being red flagged while barrier repairs were made.

88th running

Fernando Alonso was the big name to be brought in to drive at the Le Mans. He along with Kazuki Nakajima and Sébastien Buemi won at last for Toyota. they were pushed by the sister No 7 throughout. But the Spaniard put in an exceptional, pivotal stint through the night, exemplifying the mastery behind the wheel

The Rebellion racing privateer squad of Gustavo Menezes, Mathias Beche and Thomas Laurent was in third. LMP2 was won by the G-Drive Racing Oreca of Jean-Eric Vergne, Andrea Pizzitola and Romain Rusinov. he winner for the LMP2 class was the No. 26 G-Drive Racing team, followed by the No. 36 Signatech Alpine Matmut team in second and the No. 39 Graff-S024 team in third.

The Porsche 911 RSR of Kevin Estre, Michael Christensen and Laurens Vanthoor took the flag in GTE-Pro and in GTE-Amvictory went to the Dempsey-Proton Porscheof Julien Andlauer, Christian Ried and Matt Campbell.
As expected, Porsche dominated the GTE Pro class. The No. 92 Porsche GT "Piggy" Team took the victory, followed by the No. 91 Porsche GT Team in second. The No. 68 Ford GT of Chip Ganassi Racing took third in GTE Pro.
The No. 77 Dempsey - Proton Racing team (Porsche 911 RSR) took first in the GTE Am class, followed by the No. 54 Spirit of Race team (Ferrari 488 GTE) in second and the No. 85 Keating Motorsports team (Ferrari 488 GTE) in third.

Results: winner oa Toyota Hybred

Gt am Porsche Ferrari ferrari

Gt pro Porsche Porsche Ford

Lmp2 g-drive orica, alpine, graffiti-so24

Lmp1 toyota, toyota, rebellion

back to index

Sports Car Races

Targa Florio 1963

Sebring 1966

Stardust GP 1968

Le Mans 1930

Le Mans 1949

Le Mans 1950

Le Mans 1951

Le Mans 1952

Le Mans 1953

Le Mans 1954

Le Mans 1955

Le Mans 1956

Le Mans 1957

Le Mans 1958

Le Mans 1959

Le Mans 1960

Le Mans 1961

Le Mans 1962

Le Mans 1963

Le Mans 1964

Le Mans 2016