14th - 15th June

Sunday 4.00pm... It had taken 24-hours of slog, not to mention three years unrelenting hard work and 73 years after its most recent victory, Bentley had won the Le Mans 24-hour race - and also finished second.

Amid scenes of extraordinary emotion in and around the pits, at 4.00pm, Guy Smith drove his number 7 Bentley Speed 8 across the finish line. He was followed by David Brabham in the sister number 8 car to realise a dream that was a lifetime in the making. In the process Team Bentley broke Audi's three year stranglehold on the race, delivered maiden Le Mans wins to Dindo Capello and Guy Smith and allowed Tom Kristensen to join Derek Bell and Jacky Ickx as the only drivers to have won this race more than four times.

The great question at the start was whether the proven extra speed of the Speed 8 was enough to counter the extra time it would spend in the pits compared with the Audis. Brilliant driving from all six drivers, flawless pitwork, Michelin tyres that allowed triple and quadruple stints and legendary Bentley reliability provided the answer.

Dr Franz-Josef Paefgen, chairman and chief executive of Bentley Motors said,

"this is one of the greatest moments in our company's long history. On behalf of everyone at Crewe and all those who work for Bentley around the world, I'd like to thank every person at Team Bentley who helped make it possible. After 73 years we are delighted to have taken Bentley back to its roots with it's 6th victory at Le Mans."

Tom Kristensen: "This was a great way to win my fifth Le Mans. We had a near perfect race on the track and a perfect one in the pits. I was able to do quick laps, especially at night. It was great to win with my long time driving partner Dindo; Guy has done an excellent job with the development of the car as well as driving a great race today. My thanks go to whole Bentley team."

back to index

Sports Car Races

Targa Florio 1963

Sebring 1966

Stardust GP 1968

Le Mans 1930

Le Mans 1949

Le Mans 1950

Le Mans 1951

Le Mans 1952

Le Mans 1953

Le Mans 1954

Le Mans 1955

Le Mans 1956

Le Mans 1957

Le Mans 1958

Le Mans 1959

Le Mans 1960

Le Mans 1961

Le Mans 1962

Le Mans 1963

Le Mans 1964

Author: ArchitectPage